About Us
Our Work
Get Involved
Facts & Info
Our Members
Contact Us
Past Events

Award Celebrations

The EDC pays tribute to the outstanding contributions of leaders in the areas of eating disorders research, policy, action, and service. We held our first EDC Awards in 2001 and have since continued to recognize advocates, Members of Congress, and individuals who are making a positive difference for those affected by eating disorders.

Champion for Eating Disorders
Congressman Ted Deutch (D-FL), 2015
Congresswoman Ileana Ros-Lehtinen (R-FL), 2015
Senator Amy Klobuchar [D-MN]
Senator Kelly Ayotte [R-NH]
Senator Shelley Moore Capito [R-WV]
Senator Tammy Baldwin [D-WI]

Excellence in Advocacy Award
Carmen Cool, 2013

Excellence in Policy Award
Congressman Alcee Hastings (D-FL), 2013

Excellence in Policy Research Award
Dr. Rebecca Puhl, 2013

Lifetime Achievement in Policy Award
Congresswoman Ileana Ros-Lehtinen (R-FL-27), 2018 
Senator Tom Harkin (D-IA), 2013

Award for 20 Years of Service & Passion to The Eating Disorders Coalition for Research, Policy & Action
Kitty Westin, 2018

Honoring Our Hero and Champion of the FREED Act and Mental Health Parity
Congressman Patrick Kennedy, 2011

Award for Visionary Leadership
David Herzog, M.D., 2005

Award for Research
Michael Levine, Ph.D., 2009
Dianne Neumark-Sztainer, Ph.D., M.P.H., R.D., 2008
James Mitchell, M.D., 2005
Cynthia Bulik, Ph.D., 2004
Ruth Striegel-Moore, Ph.D., 2002

Award for Policy
David Wellstone, 2009
Congressman Mike Ferguson (R-NJ), 2008
Congressman Jim Ramstad (R-MN), 2007
Congressman Patrick Kennedy (D-RI), 2007
Senator Tom Harkin (D-IA), 2005
Representative Ileana Ros-Lehtinen (R-FL), 2005
Senator Paul Wellstone & Family, 2004 posthumus
Representative Judy Biggert (R-IL), 2003
Representative Ted Strickland (D-OH), 2003
Senator Hillary Rodham Clinton (D-NY), 2002
Representative John Porter (R-IL), 2001
Representative Pat Schroeder (D-CO), 2001
Representative Louise Slaughter (D-NY), 2001 
Senator Jack Reid (D-NV), 2001

Award for Action
Sarah Ohanesian, 2018
Kevin Allen, 2015
NetSmart/EveryDay Matters Foundation, 2015
Kathleen MacDonald, 2009
Darryl Roberts, 2008
Gail Schoenbach, 2005
Joe Kelly, 2004
Kitty Westin, 2002

Award for Service
Leigh and Lindsey Cohn, 2005
Rachel Beckman, 2005
Heather Warnken, 2005
Peggy Hanna, 2004
Jeanine Cogan, Ph.D., 2004
Lara Insel, 2004
Jonelle Rowe, M.D., 2003
Regina Dolan-Sewell, Ph.D., 2003
Mary Ellen Clausen, 2003
Mary Gee, 2003
Amy Tenney-Holtmann, 2003
Anita Sinicrope Maier, 2003
Celeste Pickard, 2003
Kate Dillon, 2002


Second Annual Evening with the Eating Disorders Coalition: Celebrating Advocacy
October 27, 2014
The EDC thanks Avalon Hills Eating Disorder Programs and The Eating Recovery Center for their generous sponsorship of this event.

First Annual Evening with the Eating Disorders Coalition: Celebrating Our Advocates
October 1, 2013